Happenings in New York City

Did you know that New York City is the most photographed city in the world? I can believe it. I live in New York City and I still photograph it like I’m a tourist ogling billboards and skyscrapers in this concrete jungle. I have lived in Brooklyn Heights all my life, and yet even walking down the most familiar of streets, I pause to point my lens at something spectacular that sparks out from the ordinary of my everyday.

Recently, I have realized that I often take the NYC skyline for granted. I grew up with the skyline (then with the Twin Towers) as the backdrop of my childhood. With all the traveling I’ve been doing lately, I’ve realized that I need to force myself to see the skyline and the city with new eyes since I can miss a lot. It’s not hard to miss a lot in NYC. I think FOMO was invented in NYC without New Yorkers even realizing it because they’re/we’re that cool and hip.

There is a quieter, more solemn, more poignant, more real world within this city. I’m talking about the forgotten moments of our everyday that we take for granted yet mean so much.

NYC is a city that is happening. Literally, something is always happening: a spontaneous art exhibit in Greenwich, a cuddle party in midtown, a yoga and music concert in the lower east, an outdoor movie in Brooklyn Bridge Park…literally, something is always happening. And yet, aside from the exuberant frenzy of activity that typifies the city that never sleeps, I find that even in the quiet stillness of life in the city, there is beauty and wonder and grace and insight. There is a quieter, more solemn, more poignant, more real world within this city. I’m talking about the forgotten moments of our everyday that we take for granted yet mean so much. I tried to convey this in the photos below. Enjoy!





One Comment Add yours

  1. Roda says:

    Hi Janel!
    I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! Check it out.
    https://growingself.blog/2017/04/24/the-liebster-award/?iframe=true&theme_preview=true

    Like

Leave a Reply

