Do Not Disturb Meditating Mind

I woke up this morning with the glorious ache of muscles well-used, limbs well-stretched and a mind well-meditated. Last night’s yoga class was militant, to say the least. The teacher rattled on in Sanskrit as our pores glistened in the small candle-lit studio. We catapulted into a quick succession of asanas: adho mukha svanasana (downward dog), balasana (child’s pose), chaturanga dandasana, and salabhasana (locust), kapotasana (pigeon pose). We felt the juicy open of our limbs, the sweat of our feet clinging onto our mats and the heaving of our chests in pranayama.

My body had always felt like an awkward mass of bones and skin. My yoga practice has made me less self-conscious and more body-aware.

I had greeted this new year with new vigor. I upped the frequency and intensity of my yoga practice. I now practice at least 6 days a week for 90 mins each day at local yoga studio. Naturally, my body now feels both strengthened and exhausted. Physically and mentally, I feel challenged and invigorated. It feels so delicious to be able to feel physically and mentally open, expansive, and spacious. I like to think that my physical flexibility trains my mind to be flexible as well. We start seeing the world through new eyes, taking on new perspectives, exploring opportunities, taking risks, feeling alive.

My body had always felt like an awkward mass of bones and skin. My yoga practice has made me less self-conscious and more body-aware.

Here are a few reasons why I am so in love with my yoga practice right now:

  1. Physically, I feel more able to take on the world. I am impressed with the graceful athleticism of my body and the fluidity and seeming ease as my limbs thread one asana to the next. It had not always been like this. My body had always felt like an awkward mass of bones and skin. My yoga practice has made me less self-conscious and more body-aware. I used to cringe when my shirt gently fell over me in yoga class in shoulder stand, exposing the small round flesh of my stomach. Immediately, my ego hit over-drive: who is looking at me, are they shaming me, judging me, secretly silently chuckling at me?  Now, I could care less if stomach shows. That little belly bulge – the one where you’re not sucking it in – is evidence of a living life. Breath expands and contracts the lungs and the belly flows.
  2. Mentally, I feel more capable. The physical feats my body has been able to (amazingly!) accomplish through the asanas gives me evidence that I am capable of more than I think. And practicing yoga has helped me cope with my issues of self-doubt and my battle of with imposter syndrome.
  3. Spiritually, I feel very connected and bonded to the teachers, students and friends I practice yoga with. I love that my experience of yoga has been that of a nurturing community of women. I love that meditation and breathwork has helped me curb anxiety

What are some of the reason your hat you LOVE yoga right now?

Leave a Reply

